Sailors show their mettle at Dinghy Championships

Sailors show their mettle at Dinghy Championships

Participation by international crews on the increase

The Royal Malta Yacht Club, under the auspices of the Malta Sailing Federation, welcomed over 55 sailors to compete in the recently held National Dinghy Championships.  The fleet competed in seven classes which included Optimist Senior, Optimist Cadet, Optimist Novice, Laser Standard, Laser Radial, Laser 4.7 and RS Feva.

The Championships have also attracted a number of foreign participants, including a Turkish contingent from the famed Galatasaray Sports Club.

The plan for the championships was to host up to four races a day over Saturday and Sunday, however the weather on Saturday thwarted all plans when large black clouds suddenly spread over the designated race course.  This resulted in the Race Committee sending all the fleet back into harbour for safety, with instructions to wait it out for a while. With the wind suddenly picking up to speeds of up to 25 knots, the Committee and coaches agreed it would be best to cancel the races for the day.

Sunday morning’s conditions were slightly better with shifty winds and a choppy swell resulting in the mark layers having a trying time to ensure that the race course was well, especially due to the fact that the strong currents where wreaking havoc with the marks.  Yet the fleet managed to compete in four races, wrapping up the event in the afternoon.

Optimist Class

Photo Credit: Alan Saliba

Although four races were held throughout the course of the day, the first race was discarded having gone over the stipulated 60 minute time frame.

In the Optimist Cadet Division Ali Poyraz Ozdemir (Turkey) won the division. Ozdemir had equal points as second place Eric Fenech Pace (MYSC), however Ozdemir had better placings. In Third Place was Timmy Vassallo (MYSC). Fenech Pace was crowned National Champion in this division.

The Royal Malta Yacht Club’s recently setup Optimist fleet, saw good results being produced in the Novice Division, when First and Third places were won by the Club’s students. First place went to Poyraz Fidanboy, followed by Jacob Azzopardi (MYSC) and Esmeralda Fusini Davison (RMYC).

The Senior Division saw MYSC Sailors Nico Drescher and Benjamin Vassallo take first and second, whilst BSC’s Jake Mallia completed the Divisions’ podium.

Laser Class

Photo Credit: Edward Flores

Saul Vassallo (MYSC) dominated the Laser 4.7, winning all the four races of the day. Following him in second place was Gabriella Mifsud, fresh from her successful Rolex Middle Sea Race participation with the all-female crew of JYS Jan. In third place was Dorothy Matthews (KYC).

In the Laser Radial Division, it was Ranya Saravanan (YAI) who took the honours followed by MYSC Sailors Zachary Zammit and Matthew Micallef. The Standard Division saw only two competitors take part with Eriks Karlis Zvilna (RMYC) taking the honours with three straight wins.

Photo Credit: Edward Flores

The RS Feva Division was won by RMYC duo Dimitris Vertsonis and Flynn Mifsud.

A Prize Giving ceremony took place later on at the Royal Malta Yacht Club terrace. The winners were announced by Malta Sailing Federation President Michael Mifsud and prizes were presented by Royal Malta Yacht Club Rear Commodore Peter Dimech and Commodore Godwin Zammit, who thanked all those involved for their commitment and effort. President Michael Mifsud concluded by thanking Midi plc for supporting this event.

Official Results can be found on


Dinghy ChampionshipsMalta Sailing FederationRoyal Malta Yacht Club
Boat Name *
Sail Number *
Boat Type *
Length Overall (LOA) *
Club *
Other Club *