Raymarine Double Handed Figure of Eight Trophy

Raymarine Double Handed Figure of Eight Trophy

Seawolf of Southampton etches name of Raymarine Double Handed Figure of Eight Trophy

David Latham and Philippe Falle on Seawolf of Southampton skippered the Pronavia 38 to victory at the annual Raymarine Double Handed Race organised by the Royal Malta Yacht Club.

A fleet of eighteen boats started the two-man race on Saturday 1st December with a forecast of light winds, so much so that Race Officer Peter Dimech decided to shorten the course to a figure of eight around Comino.

Setting off at 8am the fleet were hit by a forceful squall and heavy rain which caused a degree of disarray on a number of boats.  The blustery conditions continued with winds up to thirty knots to the South of Malta followed by a violent thunder storm that engulfed the back markers in the fleet resulting in several retirements.

The later part of the race rewarded the brave with fairer winds and clearing skies to see the finishers crossing the line in daylight.

The first boat to cross the finish line was the First 45 Elusive 2 skippered by Aaron and Christoph Podesta, however in the end it was the  Latham/Falle duo on Seawolf, who, on corrected time, took victory in their Class as well as the coveted overall winner’s trophy, etching their names in the history of the race.

Last year’s winners Jamie Sammut  and John Cachia racing on the Solaris 45 Unica, attempted a repeat performance and kept pushing till the end. Despite a wrap on the spinnaker at the end, the Sammut/Cachia duo managed a Class win.

A Prize Giving evening was held at the Royal Malta Yacht Club in the presence crews, members and friends.  Christian Ripard of RLR Yachting, agents of Raymarine in Malta presented prizes to the winners.

Raymarine Double Handed Figure of Eight Results 

Overall & IRC Class 2

1st Place – Seawolf of Southampton (Dave Latham / Philippe Farr)

2nd Place  – Escape (Georges Bonello Dupuis / Dennis Gatt)

3rd Place  – Fast Forward (Mark Vassallo / David Anastasi)

IRC Class 1

1st Place – Unica (Jamie Sammut / John Cachia)

2nd Place – Elusive 2 (Aaron Podesta / Christoph Podesta)

3rd Place – Xpresso (Sean Borg / Matthew Agius Delicata)

RMYC Club Cruisers

1st Place –  Velina (Paulo Giummara / Gaetano Salafia)

2nd Place – Waki Waki (Tom Bonello Ghio / Tom Sammut Alessi)

3rd Place – Gioia (Anthony Miggiani / Karl Miggiani)


Boat Name *
Sail Number *
Boat Type *
Length Overall (LOA) *
Club *
Other Club *