Challenging conditions at RMYC Dinghy Ranking Regatta  

Challenging conditions at RMYC Dinghy Ranking Regatta  

The Royal Malta Yacht Club hosted the RMYC Dinghy Ranking Regatta, one of the ranking events falling under the auspices of the Malta Sailing Federation, over the weekend.

Fifty eight sailors took part in the Optimist, Laser, RS Feva and Topper fleets, racing six races between Saturday and Sunday.

Racing, under the watchful eye of Race Officer Peter Dimech, took place outside Marsamxett Harbour and the fleet saw all local sailing clubs  – Birzebbugia Sailing Club, Malta Young Sailors Club, Royal Malta Yacht Club and Vikings Sailing Club being represented.

Weather conditions were challenging to say the least with a large swell present for both days. Twenty knots of wind greeted the sailors for the first race on Saturday, however the wind dropped to around tens knots for the rest of the day. Sunday saw the wind averaging fifteen knots for all the races making for some fast action throughout.

The Royal Malta Yacht Club Sailing School was particularly pleased with the results achieved in the newly set up Optimist Novice fleet, which has seen training and competitions start this year. In this Class, Adele Ramm Ericsson took third place followed by Noelle Delin. Casper Ramm Ericsson, an RMYC Optimist Novice sailor was the youngest participant of the regatta.

“The Royal Malta Yacht Club is grateful for the support shown by other local Clubs, in particular the coaches and sailors who took part as well as all the officials and volunteers who provided key logistical support and Race Management duties” – Godwin Zammit, Commodore – Royal Malta Yacht Club

Royal Malta Yacht Club  Dinghy Regatta Race Results

Optimist – Senior

1st Antonio Gasperini (MYSC)
2nd Nico Drescher (MYSC)
3rd Shaun Aquilina (BSC)


Optimist – Cadet

1st Eric Fenech Pace (MYSC)
2nd Timmy Vassallo (MYSC)
3rd Jonas Micallef (MYSC)


Optimist – Novice

1st Matthew Cachia Debono (MYSC)
2nd Nicolo Tomasini (MYSC)
3rd Adele Ramm-Ericsson (RMYC)


Laser 4.7

1st Michaela Mifsud (BSC)
2nd Matthew Flores (BSC)
3rd Danjel Bajada (MYSC)


Laser Radial

1st Matthew Micallef (MYSC)
2nd Andrew Mifsud (BSC)
3rd Jaminska Deguara (VSC)


Laser Standard

1st Christian Durant (RMYC)
2nd Matthew Camilleri (RMYC)
3rd Mark Hilhorst (RMYC)


RS Feva

1st Vanya Ramm-Ericsson / Maia Delin (RMYC)
2nd Molly Butler / Maxi Butler (RMYC)
3rd Dimitrios Vertsonis / Rodrigo Casto (RMYC)




1st Angele Vella (VSC)
2nd Luca Sartori (VSC)
3rd Kyran Busuttil Turner (VSC)


RMYCRoyal Malta Yacht ClubSailing
Boat Name *
Sail Number *
Boat Type *
Length Overall (LOA) *
Club *
Other Club *